North Country Renaissance  Zone - Time Extension
   - Download Brochure-
  Renaissance Zones:
    Houghton County
    Franklin Township Industrial
    Calumet Township
    Gogebic County
    Ironwood Township
    Wakefield Township
    Wakefield City
    Bessemer Township
    Marenisco Township
    Ontonagon County
    Village of Ontonagon/
    Ontonagon Township
    McMillan Township - Ewen
    Other Michigan Sites
  Contact Us
  Western Upper Peninsula Planning & Development Region
  P.O. Box 365
Houghton, Michigan 49931
  1.800.528.3937 [toll free]
   906.482.7205 [phone]
   906.482.9032 [fax]


Site Updated 2.8.2008

Michigan Renaissance Zones

Through the Michigan Renaissance Zone Act of 1996 twenty renaissance zones have been created in both economically distressed urban and rural areas alike. Renaissance Zones are a powerful market-based program designed to spur new jobs, investment, and redevelopment in designated areas. Each renaissance zone is made up of multiple sub-zones ranging for 20 - 1500 acres in size. In 1996 eleven renaissance zones were awarded and became active January 1st 1997.

Renaissance Zones awarded 1996

  1. City of Benton Harbor, City of St. Joseph, Benton Township (urban; 10 subzones; 15-year term)
  2. City of Detroit (urban; 8 subzones; 12-year term)
  3. City of Flint (urban; 7 subzones; 15-year term)
  4. Gogebic/Ontonagon/Houghton Counties (rural; 6 subzones; 15-year term)
  5. City of Grand Rapids (urban; 6 subzones; 15-year term)
  6. City of Lansing (urban; 2 subzones; 12-year term)
  7. Manistee County (rural; 2 subzones; 15-year term)
  8. Montcalm/Gratiot Counties (9 subzones; 15-year term)
  9. Oscoda-Wurtsmith (ex-military facility; 1 subzone; 15-year term)
  10. City of Saginaw (urban; 5 subzones; 15-year term)
  11. City of Warren (former military facility; 1 subzone; 15-year term)

Due to the successes of the 1996 Renaissance Zones, state legislature awarded another 9 Renaissance zones in the state. These zones became active January 1st 2000.

Renaissance Zones awarded 1999

  1. Alpena County, City of Alpena, Grand Traverse County and Presque Isle County (rural; 10 subzones; 15 year term)
  2. Huron County, Sanilac County, and Tuscola County (cities of Brown City, Croswell, and Sandusky, villages of Caro, Cass City, Owendale, and Port Hope; rural; 8 subzones; 10-year term)
  3. City of Jackson and Jackson County (urban; 5 subzones; 15 years)
  4. K.I. Sawyer Airforce Base (former military facility; one zone; 15 years)
  5. Kalamazoo County, City of Kalamazoo, and City of Battle Creek (urban; 10 subzones; 15 years)
  6. Lake, Osceola, and Clare Counties (rural; 10 subzones; 15-year term)
  7. Muskegon and Muskegon County (urban; 6 subzones; 15-year term)
  8. Van Buren County (rural; 6 subzones; 10-year term)
  9. Wayne County (cities of River Rouge, Taylor, and Wyandotte; urban; 5 subzones; 15-year term)

Map of Michigan Renaissance Zones http://www.michigan.org/medc/services/sitedevelopment/renzone/index.asp

Michigan Economic Development Corporation